EHR, Meaningful use, ICD-10, Electronic Health Records
EHR Glossary > American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA)

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA)

Author | Date May 9, 2012

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA): Signed into law in 2009 by President Obama, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) is also referred to as The Recovery Act, or Stimulus Package.  It authorizes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to offer financial incentives to hospitals and physicians who become “Meaningful Users” of electronic health records (EHRs).

Policies under the ARRA serve as motivation for healthcare professionals to become proficient in using health information technology to achieve best practices. Attaining widespread success with EHR systems will not only create jobs and improve the efficiency and quality of medical care, but also cut back on costs. The Act is designed to address both the financial and healthcare-related issues in the U.S.


For more information, visit the ARRA website.

View all articles on the ARRA.

Browse all our white papers by topic:

Meaningful Use   ICD-10   Small Practices   

Cloud Based EHR   Business Intelligence 

Medical Billing


Related Resources:

  • Should You Switch to a New Electronic Medical Record (EMR) System?
  • Built-in or Bolted-on ICD-10: What’s the Difference and Why Does it Matter?
  • Webcast: Improving Clinical Documentation for a Successful ICD-10 Transition
  • EHR Buyer’s Guide
  • Build a Medical Billing Machine in Less Then a Week

  • EHRIntelligence

    Sign up for our free newsletter and join

    40,000 of your peers to stay up to date with tips and advice on:
    • Meaningful Use
    • ICD-10
    • EHR Replacement

    no, thanks

    Our privacy policy