Electronic Health Records

Latest Health IT News

CMS Reviews Meaningful Use Rules for National Health IT Week

As a part of its activities for National Health IT Week, CMS is reviewing the requirements for meaningful use attestation in 2016.

By Sara Heath

As a part of its efforts for National Health IT Week, CMS has provided updates and reminders on meaningful use requirements for the 2016 reporting period.

For this meaningful use reporting period, the program’s nearly 600,000 active participants will need to attest to a streamlined set of program requirements. Eligible professionals will need to attest to 10 requirements and eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) will need to attest to nine requirements.

CMS will also issue alternate exclusions for providers unable to attest to certain measures. These exclusions may lower attestation thresholds and accommodate necessary changes in the stage 2 meaningful use requirements allowing for more seamless transition into the program.

For eligible professionals, eligible hospitals, and CAHs that have not yet successfully attested to meaningful use, the 2016 reporting period will be any continuous 90-day period between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2016. For returning participants, the reporting period will be a full calendar year beginning on Jan. 1, 2016, until Dec. 31, 2016.

First-time participants must attest to the 2016 reporting period by Oct. 1, 2016, in order to avoid a negative payment adjustment for 2017. First-time participants will still have the option of reporting after Oct.1, but will be subject to a negative payment adjustment.

All returning participants must attest by Feb. 28, 2017.

Dig Deeper:




Sign up to continue reading and gain Free Access to all our resources.

Sign up for our free newsletter and join 60,000 of your peers to stay up to date with tips and advice on:

EHR Optimization
EHR Interoperability

White Papers, Webcasts, Featured Articles and Exclusive Interviews

Our privacy policy

no, thanks

Continue to site...