Electronic Health Records

Policy & Regulation News

CMS Updates Electronic Clinical Quality Measure Value Sets

CMS recently posted an addendum to eCQM specifications affecting ICD-10 value sets.

By Kate Monica

A recent addendum to the 2016 Electronic Clinical Quality Measure (eCQM) specifications updates IDC-10 Clinical Modification (CM) and Procedure Coding System (PCS) eCQM value sets for the 2017 performing year. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) published the changes.

The Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting Program, Medicare EHR Incentive Programs for eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals, and the Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) for eligible clinicians are among the programs affected by these changes.

The Health Quality Measure Format (HQMF) specifications, the value set object identifiers (OIDs), and the measure version numbers for 2017 eCQM reporting will remain consistent with previously posted designations.

The changes to the ICD-10 value sets include a deletion of expired codes and the addition of replacement codes as well as new codes for concepts relating to the value set and corresponding measures.

All changes to ICD-10 value sets are specified in edited technical release notes, including OIDs affected by the changes.  

Measure implementers should review these changes and revise ICD-10 codes so that submissions align with the updated requirements for 2017 reporting.  Clinicians are expected to revise workflows to align with the recent changes.

A full list of revisions to the eCQM value sets are accessible through the NLM’s Value Set Authority Center.




Sign up to continue reading and gain Free Access to all our resources.

Sign up for our free newsletter and join 60,000 of your peers to stay up to date with tips and advice on:

EHR Optimization
EHR Interoperability

White Papers, Webcasts, Featured Articles and Exclusive Interviews

Our privacy policy

no, thanks

Continue to site...